NOTICE:   Public notices have been published concerning a variety of District activities, including 2016 tax rate information.Read More

North Plains Groundwater Conservation District

Maintaining our way of life through conservation, protection, and preservation of our groundwater resources.


The North Plains Groundwater Conservation District is charged with conserving, protecting and preserving the Ogallala aquifer and other water resources in the northern Texas Panhandle. This we achieve through setting policy, education programs, District-provided services, and through the cooperation of local, state, and federal agencies.

The District issues water well permits, collects groundwater information, performs water quality analyses, provides a number of well system tests and other services. Extensive databases are used to store, retrieve, and analyze the groundwater information for the District in its Groundwater Management Plan.

If you are interested in learning more please contact our office at 806-935-6401 or e-mail us at


Operation: Summer Showers

For Your Water Conservation Needs
North Plains Groundwater Conservation District (NPGCD) is challenging its residents to take advantage of Operation: Summer Showers. Operation: Summer Showers is […]

Read More

District Dedicates Richard S. Bowers Conservation Learning Center

On June 14, 2016 the North Plains Groundwater Board of Directors dedicated the district’s classroom and meeting facility at the North Plains Water Conservation Center […]

Read More
View all News


bob_zimmer Bob Zimmer
Director for Hutchinson & Hansford Counties Board President
harold_grall Harold Grall
Director for Moore County, Board Vice President
danny_krienke Danny Krienke
Director for Ochiltree County, Board Secretary
gene_born Gene Born
Board Director for Lipscomb County
justin_crownover Justin Crownover
Director for Sherman County
mark_howard Mark Howard
Director for Hartley County
zachary_yoder Zachary Yoder
Director for Dallam County